PAEC Horizon Newsletter
  Thursday, October 24, 2013   Issue 136  

Grand Ridge and Quincy School Earn Good Sportsmanship Honors


In recognition of the vital role good sportsmanship plays in shaping today's student-athletes, the Florida High School Athletic Association (FHSAA) announced the recipients of this year's Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards. The award honors schools whose athletic teams demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2012-2013 regular season and FHSAA State Series. This year, 20 high schools and three middle schools received the prestigious award. Two area schools, Munroe High School in Gadsden County and Grand Ridge School in Jackson County.

"This is a special award for our member schools, honoring those who truly do things the right way.," said FHSAA edecutive Director Dr. Roger Dearing. "Sportsmanship is the most important value we can instill in our young student-athletes, and the schools we honor today have demonstrated a deep commitment to integrity and the spirit of fair play."

The award presented annually since 1991, is named in honor of FHSAA Commissioner Emeritus Fred E. Roselle. It is presented to one school in each classification whose total sports program best exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship as demonstrated by its coaches, players and spectators. Criteria for selection of the winners includes programs and activities implemented within the school and community tot promote sportsmanship; the number and type of unsportsmanlike ejections; the number and type of exceptional sportsmanship reports; and the source of nomination.

The schools receiving the FHSAA/Fred E. Rozelle Sportsmanship Awards for outstanding sportsmanship in 2012-2013.

High Schools - 1A

Section 1 - Cedar Key
Section 2 - The Villages Center

Overall Winner - Cedar Key

High Schools - 2b

Section 1 - Munroe (Quincy)
Section 2 - Merritt Island Christian
Section 3 - Master's Academy of Vero Beach
Section 4 - Miami Christian

Overall Winner - Miami Christian

High Schools - 3A

Section 2 - Lake Mary Preparatory School
Section 3 - Shorecrest Preparatory School (St. Petersburg)

Overall Winner - Lake Mary Preparatory School

High Schools - 4A

Section 2 - Cocoa
Section 3 Dunbar (Fort Myers)

Overall Winner - Cocoa

High Schools - 5A

Section 2 - Lake Nona (Orlando)
Section 3 - North Fort Myers

Overall Winner - North Fort Myers

High Schools - 6A

Section 2 - Sunlake (Land O'Lakes)
Section 3 - Fort Myers

Overall Winner - Sunlake (Land O'Lakes)

High Schools 7A

Section 1 - First Coast (Jacksonville)
Section 2 - Viera
Section 3 - Braden River (Bradenton)

Overall Winner - Braden River (Bradenton)

High Schools - 8A

Section 1 - Manderine (Jacksonville)
Section 3 - Riverview (Sarasota)
Section 4 -Ferguson (Miami)

Overall Winner - Ferguson (Miami)

Middle Schools

Section 1 - Grand Ridge Middle
Section 2 - Fox Chapel Middle (Spring Hill)
Section 4 - St. Mark's Middle (Fort Lauderdale)

Overall Winner - Grand Ridge Middle